Baidu Facebook Sina Youtube LYJMFC Channel
Latest events
Results of the 3rd Lin Yao Ji International Competition for Violin Compositions 29/02/2016 (Mon)

Announcement of the results of the 3rd Lin Yao Ji International Competition for Violin Compositions (Revised) 

The Lin Yao Ji Music Foundation is pleased to announce the results of the 3rd Lin Yao Ji International Competition for Violin Compositions. We would like to extend our thanks to all participating composers.

We are extremely grateful to Members of the Competition’s Adjudication Panel – Professors Chen Yi (Chair and Chief Judge) and Donald Crockett, who all worked hard to study and evaluate the entries received. Prof. Steven Stucky was in the Adjudication Panel but it was unfortunate that he passed away in this mid February before we received his scores. Pulitzer Prize-winning American composer Prof. Stucky has made profound contribution to our music society as an extraordinary composer, an excellent and devoted teacher, an enthusiastic advocate of new music composers, and an absolutely generous human being. He has served on the judging panel of our Lin Yao Ji International Competition for Violin, and has influenced and supported many composers through lectures, masterclasses, new music festivals, workshops and competitions internationally.

During the process of adjudication, each Member of the Panel adjudicated on the works submitted (i) without knowledge of the names or background of the composers and (ii) independently without consultation with or knowledge of scores given by other Members. 

The Winner of each Category was the composition which received the highest aggregate score awarded by Members of the Panel. Merit Awards were selected at the discretion of the Adjudication Panel.

We congratulate the following Prize Winners of the Competition:

Category A. Solo Violin

Winner: not awarded

Category B. Duo for violin and ONE other instrument

Winner: CHAN Chin Ting, Patrick 陳展霆 (Hong Kong) , Thread, for 2 violins

Category C. Ensemble - violin and up to FOURTEEN additional instruments

Winner: SHAO Zheng 邵爭 (China), Xian Ge《弦歌》for Violin, Cello, Piano

Two Merit Awards were awarded by the Foundation to:

CHAN Chin Ting, Patrick 陳展霆 (Hong Kong) , Shape of Wind, for Solo Violin

Jean-Patrick BESINGRAND (France), Mémoire d’un instant for Violin, Cello, Piano


The LYJ Music Foundation intends to present winning works of each Category at public concerts in China and Hong Kong. Winners of each Category will be contacted individually by the Foundation.

For enquiries, please email

| Contact Us | Site Map |