Baidu Facebook Sina Youtube LYJMFC Channel
Latest events
[Submission deadline postponed]The 2nd Lin Yao Ji International Competition for Violin Compositions 30/09/2013 (Mon)

The Lin Yao Ji Music Foundation of China (the Foundation) is proud to launch its second international competition for violin compositions. The objective of the Competition is to encourage the creation of new compositions featuring the violin and ensembles with violin, and to advance young composers showing outstanding musicality and innovation.

The Competition is open to composers of all nationalities aged 40 or under on 31 December 2013. The winning compositions of the respective Categories will be recommended for presentation at public concerts and/or in major chamber music events to be staged in China and Hong Kong in 2014. 

Application forms are now available for download by scrolling to the bottom of this page. Please right click to download the file onto your desktop. Please email us at if you have problems downloading the files.

SUBMISSION DEADLINE:   31 January 2014


Each entrant may submit one work each for one or more of the following three Categories:

Category A.   Solo Violin

This should be a work written for the solo violin, to be performed without accompaniment.

Category B.    Duo for violin and ONE other instrument

This should be a piece written principally for the violin with accompaniment, or a work in which both the violin and the additional instrument (which can also be a violin) share equal weight in the music.

Category C.   Ensemble - violin and TWO to FOUR additional instruments

This should be a work written for a chamber ensemble of between 3 to 5 instruments including the violin. Instruments in addition to one violin featured in the composition may be any Chinese or Western instrument, including but not limited to violin, voice, digital keyboard and fixed media.


Prizes will be awarded to the winning entry of each Category:

Category A:               US$1,000

Category B:               US$1,500

Category C:               US$2,000 

Merit Awards: Cash prizes of up to US$500 each will be awarded to entries deserving special merit, as may be decided by the Adjudication Panel.

Winners of the Competition will be announced in February 2014. The Foundation will also notify each winner by email individually.


All materials must be submitted electronically and sent to

The following materials must be submitted by 11:59pm Hong Kong Time on 31 December 2013:

  • a duly completed Entry Form for each category (if more than category is entered) in PDF or Microsoft Word format
  • a clearly legible score in PDF format
  • a scanned copy of valid passport or photo ID
  • evidence of payment of an Entry Fee of HK$240 (US$30) for each category (Please see below. Payment instructions are also available in the entry form)

The composer’s name or any identifying markings must not appear anywhere on the score or on the 2nd page of the Entry Form titled “The Composition”. Contravention of this rule may lead to disqualification. 


Please click here to view payment instructions and make payment.

Important: The Foundation does not offer refunds. Applicants are asked to clearly review the guidelines before entering the Competition and before making payment. Please read the Rules of the Competition carefully before proceeding with the application and before making payment. If in doubt, please contact us at 




  1. Entry Form
  2. Rules and Requirements
  3. Adjudication Panel
  4. Advisers of the Competition

| Contact Us | Site Map |