Baidu Facebook Sina Youtube LYJMFC Channel
Latest events
2015 The Third Lin Yao Ji International Competition For Violin Compositions 15/09/2015 (Tue)

The Lin Yao Ji Music Foundation (the LYJ Foundation) is proud to announce the third international competition for music composition. The objective of the Competition is to encourage the creation of new compositions featuring the violin and ensembles with violin, and to advance young composers showing outstanding musicality and innovation.

The Competition is open to composers of all nationalities aged 35 or under on 31 October 2015. The winning compositions of the respective Categories will be recommended for performance at public concerts by renowned violin virtuoso Chen Xi (tbc) and/or in major chamber music events to be staged in Hong Kong.

DEADLINE: 15 January 2016


Each entrant may submit ONE work for one or more of the following three Categories:

Category A. Solo Violin  

This should be a work written for the solo violin, to be performed without accompaniment.


Category B. Duo for violin and ONE other instrument

This should be a piece written principally for the violin with accompaniment, or a work in which both the violin and the additional instrument (which can also be a violin) share equal weight in the music.

Category C. Ensemble - violin and UP TO FOURTEEN additional instruments

This should be a work written for a chamber ensemble featuring a solo violin plus up to 3 tutti violins, 4 violas and 2 cellos, with the following optional instruments, namely, one double bass, one harpsichord or piano, and up to 4 instruments of the woodwind or brass or percussion families. The above instruments could be any Chinese or Western instruments, and additional voice, digital keyboard and fixed media may be included.


Prizes will be awarded to the winning entry of each Category:

  • Category A: US$1,000
  • Category B: US$1,500
  • Category C: US$2,000


Merit Awards: Cash prizes of up to US$500 each will be awarded to entries deserving special merit, as may be decided by the Adjudication Panel.

Winners of the Competition will be announced on the Foundation’s website and Facebook page on 29 February 2016. The Foundation will also notify each winner by email individually.


All materials must be submitted electronically and sent to The following materials must be submitted by 11:59pm Hong Kong Time on 15 January 2016:

  • a duly completed Entry Form for each category (if more than category is entered) in PDF or Microsoft Word format
  • a clearly legible score in PDF format
  • a scanned copy of valid passport or photo ID
  • evidence of payment of an Entry Fee of HK$240 (US$30) for each category (Please refer to the instructions under Payment of Entry Fee)

The composer’s name or any identifying markings must not appear anywhere on the score or on the 2nd page of the Entry Form titled “The Composition”. Contravention of this rule may lead to disqualification.

ATTENTION: Copies of the application documents can be downloaded at the bottom of this page. You may also email to receive copies of the application documents.

  1. Entry Form - DOC
  2. Entry Form - PDF
  3. Composition Rules

| Contact Us | Site Map |