Baidu Facebook Sina Youtube LYJMFC Channel
Winning works of the 1st Lin Yao Ji International Competition for Composition premiered
31/05/2013 (Fri)

"Jerusalem Stones" for string quartet, by Gilad Cohen, was premiered in Beijing on 20 May 2013 during the Beijing Modern Music Festival, by the Beijing Central Conservatory's Chamber Music Department's string quartet.  

Praised by the 2010 Israeli Prime Minister Award Committee for “creating a personal language fusion that has a unique dimension” in music that is “fascinating, vibrant and drawing the ear as well as the heart”, Israeli composer Gilad Cohen (b. 1980) is an active composer, performer and conductor in different musical genres including concert music, rock and music for theatre. A graduate of the Jerusalem Academy of Music and Dance and the Mannes College of Music, Gilad is currently a PhD candidate in Composition at Princeton University. Gilad’s music was performed at venues around the US, Europe and Israel including Merkin Hall, Morgan Library & Museum, Bargemusic (New York), the University of Music and Performing Arts in Vienna, Kolarac Hall (Belgrade) and the Jerusalem Theatre (Israel). Recent awards include the Israeli Prime Minister Award for Composers, the Whiting Fellowship for Humanities, the Encore Grant from the American Composers Forum, the first prize in the American Liszt Society International Composition Competition and the top prize in the 2012 Franz Josef Reinl Composition Contest in Vienna. A current student at the Tony-honored BMI Musical Theatre Workshop in New York, Gilad is active as a composer for theatre, choral conductor and performer, playing piano, bass and guitar. Recent performances included Merkin Hall, Rose Hall at Lincoln Center and Symphony Space (New York).

Gilad was the Winner of Category C of the 1st Lin Yao Ji International Competition for Composition (LYJICC).Category C was open to works written for a chamber ensemble of between 3 to 5 instruments including the violin. Instruments in addition to one violin featured in the composition may be any Chinese or Western instrument, including but not limited to violin, voice, digital keyboard and fixed media.


"Spindrift" for solo violin, by Tonia Ko, was premiered  by young celebrity violinist and winner of the 2002 Tchaikovsky Violin Competition Chen Xi,  on 20 May 2013 during the Beijing Modern Music Festival. The piece was also played on tour in Tianjin and Xi'an as part of the Caput Ensemble's tour of China from 18 to 24 May 2013.

The music of Tonia Ko has been described by critics as “expansive, meditative,” and containing an “uncertain piquancy.” Born in Hong Kong in 1988 and raised in Honolulu, Hawaii, her work reflects and embraces her multi-cultural upbringing. Ensembles that have performed her work include the ensemble mise-en, Indiana University New Music Ensemble, Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, Eastman Wind Ensemble, Luna Nova New Music Ensemble, and members of the Chicago Symphony Orchestra. A three-time winner of the Louis Lane Prize, she has also received recognition from the Musica Domani Competition, International Alliance for Women in Music, Austin Peay State University, Chicago Chinese Fine Arts Society, and the Belvedere Chamber Music Festival. Tonia is currently a first-year doctoral student at Cornell University. She received her Master’s degree at the Indiana University Jacobs School of Music, where she also served as Associate Instructor of Music Theory. At IU, she was awarded the Georgina Joshi Commission Prize. Tonia earned a Bachelor’s degree with highest distinction from the Eastman School of Music. Her mentors include Steven Stucky, David Dzubay, Claude Baker, Robert Morris, and Ricardo Zohn-Muldoon. 

“Spindrift" was written by Tonia Ko in France in the summer of 2009, and won the Ma Si-cong Centennial Prize of the 1st LYJICC. Tonia's other entry, “Still Life Crumbles” for violin and double manual harpsichord, also won Category B of the LYJICC. Category B was open to pieces written principally for the violin with accompaniment, or a work in which both the violin and the additional instrument (which can also be a violin) share equal weight in the music.

Both pieces were premiered during Caput Ensemble's tour of China from 18 to 24 May 2013. The Caput Ensemble performed at the Beijing Central Conservatory of Music, the home of the Beijing Modern Music Festival 2013, on May 20th, as well as at the Tian Jin May Festival on May 21st, and at the Xi’an Conservatory of Music on May 23rd.

The tour is supported by the Nordic Culture Point (Kulturkontakt Nord), and the concerts are held in cooperation with the Lin Yao Ji Music Foundation of China and the Icelandic-Chinese Cultural Society (KÍM) which celebrates its 60th anniversary this year.

Videos More
Waltz, Serenade for Strings Tchaikovsky
String Quartet in D Major Op.1 No.3 Joseph Haydn 1st Mov. Adagio
Sonata No. 6 in E, Op. 27 (Eugene Ysaye)

Photos More

| Contact Us | Site Map |